and i thought art school would never pay off...
Jul. 19, 2005 ~ 8:28 pm

Over the last 6 weeks I've applied at nearly 15 different places. All of them claimed to be hiring with the exception of JoAnns (the fabric/craft store). The woman told me to fill out an application anyway in case anything opened up.

After nights and days of praying for my unemployed ass to find a job, I finally got a call last night...

.. it was JoAnns

My interview was at 2 this afternoon. They are looking for someone to work in the framing department... apparently the manager hand picked me himself because I've studied at an art school.

"how prestigious mister manager... i spent nearly 25 grand for two years just so I could slave myself out to you for nearly minimum wage..."

I'm thinking this man isn't too bright because I've obviously dropped out of art school 2 years ago. Would one not think I would probably drop out of being a frame worker as well???

hmmm... i dont know about this one guys... alas, a job is a job is a paycheck is a meal is a necessity.



The downsides to this job:
It'd be a $2 an hour paycut from hellmart.
It's only part time.
I'd be stuck wearing a hideous purple or turqouise polo thoughout the durations of my shifts.
It's framing.

Hmmm.. that last one might be a problem for them.

I'm not exactly the "precion based" type. I don't like rulers and measurements when it comes to matting and framing. I'm more the "eyeball-it" type.

The entire interview took 20 minutes... 15 of those were spent taking an automated phone test.

The other 5 minutes were spent learning about how the store manager got sick, threw up and went home after only working for one hour. Then how inventory was the day before and how they got screwed by UPS and FedEx and God only knows what other company which delivers their goods.

.... 25 grand folks...

... and this is what it comes down to.

and yet I still may get rejected and end up in the same rut i'm in now...

it's not that beggars cant be choosers.... it's simply that beggars shouldn't be choosers...

I choose to be a chooser... and what I choose to choose is whatever gets money in my damn pocket.



I should have a follow-up interview within the next few days....

truth be told Im curious as to how I may or may not like the job. It's a learning experience and when it comes to working with my hands.. i'll enjoy damn near anything.

You know, if it wasnt for my morals and values that last statement could get me a damn fine paying job in itself...

damn you conscience... damn you

<< back || forth >>