frameshop fun
Oct. 05, 2005 ~ 1:00 pm

Its been too long...

.. i know.

Works kept me pretty busy and thus far aside from crazy cat-lady customers I really have no complaints.

I learned over the last two weeks that I really lucked out being offered a frameshop position at Michaels. Apparently its not as fun to work on the salesfloor.. its actually quite annoying and hectic to be a cashier.

Back in the frameshop you're in your own little world of glue, wood, metal, powertools, glass, and artwork. And I like it.



It's amazing what people have framed and shadowboxed. We get people who bring in their stitch work, their posters, their shirts, artwork from around the world, medals, photos, childrens drawings, etc...

... I have yet to see anything truly strange but its still early. The latest thing in the shop is a sweatshirt with several names written across in that puffy fabric paint.

The story goes the Grandmother got to wear it once before she passed away and now its to be placed in an enormous shadowbox displaying all the grandchildrens names.

Strange? Not really, its a memoir.

The only thing unsettling about the situation is my supervisor only refers to the piece as "Dead Grandma". "time to frame dead grandma" "gotta move dead grandma out the way so I can work" "theres dead grandma in all her lusciousness"...

I live in fear of making such jokes because when she comes to haunt the frameshop I'm hoping she will grant me mercy.



We also had a crazy cat-lady type bring in a print of jesus being taken from the cross. The woman was accompanied by her mother to get the piece framed. She went on and on about how she rescued the image from a church damaged in Katrinas flood.

It all sounded fine and dandy until the mother noticed a pair of dice on the bottom right hand corner of the print....

"Oh look... did they have dice back then?"

to which the woman then replied:

"Of course mother! They were rolling the dice to see who gets to crucify jesus"

....

seriously.. thats what she said. I stepped away before I choked on my gum through my laughter. She then continued to tell the story of her two cats. Both lived in different states, yet both were affected and flooded in by Katrina. One was smart enough to make his way to the neighbors yacht until she came to look for him days later. After finding him, she declared her cat was a genius knowing exactly what to do in case of a hurricane.

What did she do? Enroll her cats in hurrican awareness classes? I wouldn't be one bit surprised...

Now if you'll excuse me, I must prepare myself for another 8 hours of frameshop fun.

<< back || forth >>