choco meel, money, and my pride
Jul. 27, 2005 ~ 5:33 pm

Well, another day another.... day.

Sadly I couldn't even finish that sentence with a measley dollar... another day, another scrounging around the apartment finding something to eat.

Last night I had peanut butter and jelly on a hot dog bun. Thank God the boyfriends bratwursts only came in packages of 6. It leaves me with 2 extra buns to do as I please....

I'm saving the last one til it gets moldy in case I get some mad sickness in which I will then magically transform it into penicillin...

penicillin and jelly sandwiches... i may be on to something.



Not wanting to waste my last precious bit of bread, I decided breakfast would be a delicious chocolate milkshake involving a raw egg, half a banana, a splash of vanilla and my oh so delightful choco milk...

or "Choco Meel" as I grew up pronouncing it...

not because I ever had an accent.. but because it was introduced to me by my family in Mexico.. you try to get them to pronounce the K at the end... for me its forever named choco meel!

unfortuneatly in my year of having my own apartment, I've never acquired myself a blender....

.. but this was no reason for me to give up on my yummy breakfast... no sir, I gathered all my little ingredients into a bowl and got out my little handheld electric mixer.

The drink wasn't half bad, brought back a lot of memories and though the banana was still a bit chunky, it was exactly what I needed to satisfy my craving.

I love the goodies that are being imported from Mexico now.... although I must say that "gansitos" have lost a touch of something from back in the day...

that little duckie spokesduck said "recuerdame"... and I do! and America is doing him no justice I tell you....



But enough about that... I have yet to pick up my last paycheck from Hellmart.. and its been what? almost two months... talk about a stubborn streak.. i simply refuse to step foot back in there... i fear I'll walk in and immediately curl up into a ball of fetus...

I act like I dont need the money or something.

Down to 1 hot dog bun, 4 slices of turkey, a gallon of milk, generic apple jacks, beans, rice and a package of tortillas....

I can make it last i tell you...

.. i can just never have guests over for dinner... or breakfast... or lunch... or even a snack...

Perhaps today will be the day I go get that check....

... but then again... theres always tomorrow.



<< back || forth >>