i blow
Sept. 13, 2005 ~ 12:21 pm

I worked my first closing shift at Michaels' last night....

.. never again do I want to close.

My associate and I spent 4 hours making follow-up calls to customers who asked to be informed of our next framing sale. I have to admit I didnt call everyone on my list as any name I felt I couldn't pronounce ended up being skipped...

.. and there was many a names I couldn't pronounce... finally the store closes at 9, and I think "great! now management shuts everything down, we clean the sales floor and vamoos! we're out!"

... well, not quite.... the store manager suddenly decided she had to change out 6 endcaps, refold the entire stock of plain t-shirts, pick up every piece of lint on the floor, make sure every flower was in its proper place, clean all the shelves in the store with this orange cleaner crap, and THEN go through the "closing" procedures such as closing registers, and shutting down the store systems...

... i believe I offically clocked out at midnight.

.. never again.

who spends three hours to close a damn store?? I was half-tempted to ask my fellow associates if Jesus was coming as a guest visitor to our store but everyone was too busy carrying out pointless orders.



I've also noted I'm on for 40 hours next week...

.. now I'm not one to complain about working a full schedule (I need the money) but it's complete bullshit to hire me in as a "part-time" associate and give me full time hours without full time benefits...

... i dont know which blows more.. the fact that retail blows or the fact that I know retail blows and continue living my life this way...

... i blow.

<< back || forth >>